[Image] ICNSP poster

21st International Conference on Numerical Simulation of Plasmas 2009

Welcome to the 21th International Conference on Numerical Simulation of Plasmas (ICNSP '09) website. The conference aims to highlight major advances in computational plasma physics and related areas. All areas of numerical simulation of plasmas are welcome, including nuclear fusion, space plasmas, plasma devices simulation, accelerators, beams, astrophysical scenarios and others. This conference has also been an important forum for communication of new ideas in numerical methods, algorithm development, parallel processing and programming techniques.

The conference was hosted by the Institute for Plasmas and Nuclear Fusion (IPFN) in Lisbon, Portugal.

The next conference in the ICNSP series will be hosted by PPPL in September 2011 in Long Branch, NJ, U.S.A. More details will be available at the conference website at http://icnsp2011.pppl.gov.



  • Plasma Simulation
    • Space & astrophysical plasmas
    • Fusion Plasmas (magnetic & inertial confinement)
    • High intensity Laser Plasma Interaction
    • Accelerators & Beams
    • Low-temperature, dusty and nano-plasmas
    • Plasma-based devices
  • Numerical methods for plasma simulation
    • MHD, EHD & other fluid methods
    • Kinetic methods, "Particle-In-Cell" and Vlasov
    • Hybrid methods, including PIC/DSMC and PIC/Fluid
    • Gyro-kinetic and gyro-fluid methods
    • Adaptative & multi-scale methods
    • Scientific visualization



International program committee:

Luís Alves (IPFN/Portugal), Alain Bécoulet (CEA/France), João P. S. Bizarro (IPFN/Portugal), Jean-Pierre Boeuf (LAPLACE/France), Viktor Decyk (UCLA/USA), William Dorland (Univ. Maryland/USA), Ricardo A. Fonseca (IPFN/ISCTE/Portugal), Toshiaki Makabe (Keio University/Japan), Luis O. Silva (IPFN/Portugal), Dirk Uhrlandt (IPST/Germany)

Local organizing committee:

Ricardo A. Fonseca (Chair), Luís Alves, João P. S. Bizarro, Samuel F. Martins, Luis Gargaté,
Jorge Vieira, Michael Marti, Joana Martins, Vishwa Bandhu Pathak, Paulo Abreu, Nitin Shukla, Marija Vranic, Bruno Silva, and Paulo Alves
Institute for Plasmas and Nuclear Fusion (IPFN), Instituto Superior Técnico, Lisbon, Portugal

Conference Poster

You can download the conference poster here (pdf 1.1 Mb).

You are visitor number 34 since 15 Sep 17.